Minutes of the Selection Committee "IOCB Postdoctoral Project and Sabbatical Program" 14.04.2014

Committee: I. Pichová (presiding), I. Starý, P. Jungwirth, V. Kašička, U. Jahn

Point 1)

The committee discussed the clarification of the contents of the IOCB Postdoctoral Projects website.

The following points should complement the rules for the application for new projects and requests for prolongation:

a) Applications for new projects must include:

-A support letter by the host of the applicant.

-Two letters of recommendation, which can be included in the application package or sent separately by the referee to uochb@uochb.cas.cz.

-A clear and concise project program, which summarizes the state of the art, details the projected investigations and puts the project in a context of the host group research activities (3-4 pages).

All documents (except for the recommendation letters) must be sent in a single pdf file. Incomplete application packages will not be considered.

All other points remain the same.

b) For extensions of postdoctoral projects the following documents must be provided:

- A cover letter
- A support letter from the Advisor
- A summary of results of the first year not exceeding two to three pages
- Plans for the extension period not exceeding two to three pages
- Copies of publications published, submitted, or drafts

All documents (except for publications) must be sent in a single pdf file. Incomplete application packages will not be considered.

Point 2)

The committee received nine applications for the IOCB Postdoctoral Fellowships and three applications for extension of the IOCB Postdoctoral Fellowships.

1.) The committee decided to grant IOCB Postdoctoral Fellowships to:

Mr. Christoph Allolio in P. Jungwirth's group with the condition of successful defense.

Mr. Hsien-Yi Hsu in J. Michl's group with the condition of successful defense.

Dr. Neelam Shivran in P. Cigler's group.

Dr. Joanna Łaźniewska in N. Weiss' group.

2.) The committee decided not to fund the following application, since it did not score high enough by scientific merits compared to the successful applications:

Dr. Arcadio Vázquez Álvarez in M. Vrabel's group.

3. The committee did not consider four incomplete applications, in which the IOCB host was missing.

4.) The committee decided to extend the IOCB Postdoctoral Fellowship by one year to:

Dr. Sebastian Zoll in K. Stříšovský's group.

Dr. Manasi Mishra in M. Mareš's group.

Dr. Miriam Cohagen in P. Jungwirth's group.

5.) As in previous meetings of the comittee, if a vote was about an applicant to a group of a comittee member, this member did not participate in the discussion and abstained from the vote.