Judging procedures

Eppendorf has no influence on deciding who receives the award.

The prize is awarded by an independent committee composed of five renowned experts under the chairmanship of Prof. Reinhard Jahn (Director Emeritus at the Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Göttingen, Germany), from the fields of:

- Cellular Neurobiology (Prof. Reinhard Jahn: Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Göttingen, Germany)
- Genetics and Cell Biology (Prof. Maria Leptin: Director EMBO, Heidelberg, Germany)
- Protein Biochemistry (Prof. Martin J. Lohse: University of Wuerzburg, Germany)
- Cell Biology (Prof. Laura Machesky: Cancer Research UK Beatson Institute, Glasgow, UK)

The papers submitted will be evaluated with respect to the following five selection criteria:

- 1. Independent scientific work
- **2.** Creativity (independent of instructions from head of institute)
- 3. Successful practical application of research approach
- 4. Significance of research results for the field of medicine
- **5.** Achievement of candidate in relation to his/her age

The main focus is on investigating the molecular biological mechanisms of the human organism and then translating this research into practical findings. The long-term goal is the diagnosis and therapy of those diseases which have yet to be treated successfully.